//
you're reading...
Inspiration, Life, Stories, Writing

You Are Not Good Enough?


‘I am ‘not’ good enough!’

I have always heard this line from the aspiring and beginning writers I met in the workshops I’ve facilitated in the past.

Let me quote a part of Natalie Goldberg’s work from her book titled, ‘Writing Down the Bones’. She mentioned this, “When I say “you ask permission,” I do not mean you have to go to someone higher up on the totem pole and inquire, Is it okay if I write? Write before you ask anyone. As a matter of fact, never ask anyone; always write, but it is about relationship. You know another writer and this reinforces your own love and commitment. It is not about them saying yes or no; it is about encouragement and friendship. And it is about something deep and unspoken. When I was with Jim, I quietly vowed to continue, to carry on with this great thing we both loved. I didn’t stand there digging the big toe of my right foot into the dirt and say, “Gosh, Jim, well, golly, do you think even dumb old me can write?” It’s more like you stand shoulder to shoulder, looking out at the vista, and the older writer points and says, “See,” and you nod and smile, knowing that the vista is good and sweet and you always want it in front of you.”

Like anyone else I do not claim that I am the best writer there is. I have my lapses, too, but I don’t sulk in that. I would rather pick up myself from that plight.

I would rather pick up my pen and my notepad and write. Or if I have my laptop, I plugged it on and start pounding the keys. I let the words flow. I must say that there are times that I feel I am running dry, but I had to push myself even the more in order to produce. If I need to take a break, I don’t deprive myself of that. If I want to munch on an Original Glazed doughnut from Krispy Kreme, then I’d go. If I want to watch a film then I watch a film. I simply want to enjoy life. Writing is my life so might as well enjoy it, too.

For the aspiring and beginning writers out there, don’t be disheartened by rejections. It’s part of it. Even the best writers or the best-selling authors in the world went through that.

It doesn’t mean that when you get rejected—it is the end of the world. It is just the beginning of something challenging, something that would further hone your skills as a writer.

Writing is not for the fainthearted. Don’t give up. Just continue to write.

Let me part by quoting J.R.R. Tolkien, “Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens.”

About JudeisHere

Writer-Editor-Facilitator, Creative Strategist-Marketer, Publicist and PR Practitioner, Publisher and Social Entrepreneur.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “You Are Not Good Enough?

  1. Howdy, good day.. Your content is incredibly striking. I never considered that it was probable to accomplish something like that until after I looked over your page. You undeniably offered a great understanding on how this kind of whole process works. Ill always come back for more info. Thanks!

    Posted by Marcella Camaron | 18/02/2010, 3:01 PM
    • Thanks for dropping by. I am glad that you appreciated the efforts I poured into this page.

      However, I had to set this page on private due to a stalker. Until then, when everything is settled, will make this blog ‘public’ again. 🙂

      Posted by theWritingHermit | 13/08/2010, 12:15 AM

Leave a Reply

