you're reading...
Communication, Life, Literature, Politics

2010 Cinemalaya Winners bared!

After a nine-day run of the 6th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition, the films: Sheron Dayoc’s ‘Halaw’, Pam Miras’s ‘Wag Kang Titingin’ and Mark Meily’s ‘Donor’ were judged winners for three different categories, on July 18, during its awarding ceremonies at the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ Main Theater—Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo.

‘Halaw’ the film that tackles Filipino illegal migrants to Malaysia—won in the New Breed Full-Length category. It also took three more awards: Best Direction for Sheron Dayoc, who wrote and produced the film at the same time; Best Performance of an Actor by John Arcilla, and Best Editing by Lester Olager and Chuck Gutierrez.

While in the Short Feature category, ‘Wag Kang Titingin’ took the judges’ nod. This is Mira’s second award, in 2005, she was awarded the Best Short Film Screenplay.

Cited for its mastery of nearly all the technical elements of filmmaking, it’s almost a real depiction of Filipinos compromise and sacrifice in order to get out of the horrors of poverty—Meily’s ‘Donor’ earned the Directors Showcase plus four other awards: Best Performance of an Actor by Baron Geisler, Best Performance of an Actress by Meryll Soriano, Best Performance of a Supporting Actress by Karla Pambid, and Best Production Design by Aped Santos.

To read more, click here!


About JudeisHere

Writer-Editor-Facilitator, Creative Strategist-Marketer, Publicist and PR Practitioner, Publisher and Social Entrepreneur.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s