you're reading...
Beauty Pageants, Culture, Entertainment, Events, Female Models, Life, Lifestyle, Stories

2013 Binibining Pilipinas winners, proclaimed

Arida strutting it out in her swimsuit, which earned her  the best in swimsuit award. Photograph by Jory Rivera.

Arida strutting it out in her swimsuit, which earned her the best in swimsuit award. Photograph by Jory Rivera.

QUEZON CITY, Philippines – Four beauties emerged as title holders in the recently concluded Binibining Pilipinas 2013, that celebrated its 50th anniversary, held at Smart Araneta Coliseum on Sunday, April 14.

Ariella Arida, a 23-year-old belle from Laguna, a graduate of BS Chemistry from the University of the Philippines-Los Baños (UPLB) was crowned Miss Philippines Universe 2013, succeeding Janine Tugunon. She bested other 49 hopefuls and also earned the Best in Swimsuit award. Other winners are Bea Rose Santiago as Binibining Pilipinas-International, Joanna Cindy Miranda as Binibining-Tourism, Mutya Johanna Datul as Binibining-Supranational, and Pia Wurtzbach as first runner-up.

During the interview portion, Arida gave a more practical answer to the question that was asked of her—what lesson that women can teach men. She answered, “One lesson in life that we, women, can teach men is being sensitive. Because we all know, that men are more logical when it comes to decision. They usually are more rational, straight forward. Unlike we, women, we use our heart and we tend to get emotional in some of our decisions… For me, sensitivity is something that we can teach men.”

Tugunon, Miss Philippines Universe 2012 is seen crowning Arida as the new Miss Philippines Universe 2013.

Tugunon, Miss Philippines Universe 2012 is seen crowning Arida as Miss Philippines Universe 2013. Photograph by Jory Rivera.

The five feet and seven and half-inch tall will represent the Philippines in the upcoming 62nd Miss Universe in July. The venue is still yet to be announced.

Arida enjoys sports including volleyball, swimming, and running, having finished a 21K recently. In the press conference held right after the beauty pageant, Arida shared what preparations she has to do prior to competing in one of the most prestigious beauty pageants in the world, “I have to improve more on communicating to people because I am here to be a spokesperson to everyone. I want everyone to get what I want to say more easily. And also, I can’t forget the walk and the personality because I think that’s also important.”

Special awards were also given during the coronation night for Best in Swimsuit – Ariella Arida (No. 41), Best in Long Gown – Mutya Datul (No. 39), Best in Talent – Anna Carmela Aquino (No. 10), Best in National Costume – Alaine Baccay (No. 37), Miss Photogenic – Mutya Datul (No. 39), Miss Friendship – Lourenz Grace Remetillo (No. 21), Bulletin’s Readers Choice – Ellore Punzalan (No. 22), Binibining Petron – Cindy Miranda (No. 16), Binibining Creamsilk Beyond Beautiful – Cindy Miranda (No. 16), Binibining San Mig Fit & Sexy Body – Pia Wurtzbach (No. 15), Binibining Avon – Bea Rose Santiago (No. 20), Binibining Philippine Airlines – Nicole Donesa (No. 4), and Binibining PAGCOR – Imelda Schweighart (No. 45).

Apart from the five winners, the candidates who made it to Top 15 were: Imelda Schweighart (No. 45), Grace Apuad (No. 34), Charmaine Elima (No. 13), Rhea Nakpil (No. 43), Amanda Noelle Navasero (No. 46), Ellore Noelle Punzalan (No. 22), Camille Nazar (No. 12), Mariel de Leon (No. 31), Merry Joyce Respicio (No. 25), and Pia Wurtzbach (No. 15).

Martin Nievera and Dawn Zulueta hosted the pageant, while Miss Universe 2010 fourth runner-up Venus Raj and Miss Universe 2011 third runner-up Shamcey Supsup were the anchor women. The heartthrobs of ABS-CBN Channel 2: Sam Concepcion, Matteo Guidicelli, Xian Lim, and Sam Milby also serenaded the beauties.

ABS-CBN Chairman Gabby Lopez, Cabinet Secretary of the Philippines Rene Almendras, Chilean Ambassador Roberto Mayorga, Italian Ambassador Massimo Roscigno, Boy Abunda, Hirofumi Hashimoto, Louis Ng of Macau, Philippine National Police Director General Allan Purisima, Miss Universe 1969 Gloria Diaz, James Younghusband, and Liliana Marquez Zawadsky were the members of the panel of judges.

Related Article


About JudeisHere

Writer-Editor-Facilitator, Creative Strategist-Marketer, Publicist and PR Practitioner, Publisher and Social Entrepreneur.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s