This category contains 7 posts

Does the Philippines still need Enrile in the Senate?

Juan Ponce Enrile may be the oldest there is politician alive in the country, but he has perhaps the longest qualifications a candidate for senatorship this May 11 elections.

But, what he did against the Electric Power Industry Reform Act (EPIRA) was probably the noblest because he is the only one who opposed in making this into law due to what he believed that the consumers must be protected from producers of electricity and not taken advantage on raising the cost of such need.


Today, ‘Manong Johnny’ as most people knew him, he admits that the political landscape now as compared to before is not that different except for the expenses spent for election campaigns. According to him, back in 1971, it only took him to spend Php400,000 back then as opposed to election expenditures today that it could amount to 400M.

Among the candidates running for senators, he has not subscribed to surveys, but rather he banks on his achievement since World War II until 2013, when he stepped down as Senate President and was voted as minority leader and in 2016, he finished his fourth term as senator.

This May 11, he seeks to be re-elected as a Senator in order to provide reason for Filipino citizens to be happy in getting the basic needs right.


Is FICTAP the Answer to Speed up Internet Connection in the Philippines?

On Thursday, May 9 at Max’s Restaurant in Remedios Street, Manila, a selected new media representatives met with the first nominee of Federation of International Cable TV Associations of the Philippines (FICTAP) Party List, Estrellita ‘Neng’ Juliano-Tamano.



Given the ranking of the country’s Internet connection, according to an article on CNNPhilippines.com, Based on the article written by Ver Marcelo, it said that the Philippines performed poorly on the speed and availability of long-term evolution (LTE) connection in the country, according to mobile network research firm OpenSignal.

The firm’s State of the LTE Report for November 2017 revealed the country ranked 74th out of 77 countries in terms of 4G speed.

Listening to Tamano of FICTAP, the only party list that pushes Internet, ICT VAS, Telecommunications, Cable, TV, Broadcast in Media–it has further opened my eyes how the article written by Marcelo was supported by her revelations.


For businesses in the country, having a fast Internet connection means a lot. Please see the benefits of having such.

But, here are some key points that businesses can take advantage of having fast Internet connection. Lifting form an article on Philistar.com, titled The Benefits of High-Speed Internet Access, For SMBs, the Net is a great source for ideas, advice and even inspiration of what direction the business should go. Also, having hhgh-speed Internet means that e-mails can be sent and received at any time, from anywhere. If e-mail is not the desired platform for discussion, there is also the option of having an online, Web-based video conference. This way, one can meet with all involved members, even if they are located far from each other

What is even more interesting about FICTAP is that, it seeks to push for Cellphone Users Act, in order to benefit and protect cellular phone users from veiled Unlimited promos.

Come Monday. May 13, if you are the type who see the urgency of addressing the nagging concerns about the Internt connection in the country, then FICTAP is the party list that should be voted. Look for number 117 in the election ballots.

To know more about FICTAP, check out the party list’s facebook page.

ASEAN Party-List must have a Spot in Congress!

Perhaps, the one party-list that really attracted me in supporting is the Academicians, Students and Educators Alliance (ASEAN). It further solidify the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC), an international agreement for child rights.



Under the terms of the convention, governments are required to meet children’s basic needs and help them reach their full potential. Central to this is the acknowledgment that every child has basic fundamental rights and these are the right to:

  • Life, survival and development
  • Protection from violence, abuse or neglect
  • An education that enables children to fulfil their potential
  • Be raised by, or have a relationship with, their parents
  • Express their opinions and be listened to

Let me focus on the third right, am education enables children to fulfill their potential. That is where ASEAN Party-List can do.

With the promising vision that the said Party-List has and when in Congress, ASEAN will push for the interests of Students, Out-of-School-Youth, Educators, Parents, OFWs and Professionals.

In an intimate forum with Professor Win Ballada, chairman and first nominee for ASEAN Party-List on May 4, Saturday, he presented the group’s platforms:

  • Access to Education, Adopt-A-Student- Act, Faster and Cheaper Internet, Free WiFi in Schools
  • Scholarships, Subsidies and Support for Reviewees, Students and Educators, Salary Upgrades for Educators;
  • Employment, Entrepreneurship, Ease of Doing Business, OFW Reintegration, Enhanced TESDA, all for Economic Development;
  • Anti-Corruption, Anti-Red Tape, Pro-ASEAN integration, Amend CPD, Accountability in Government Service
  • Nation-Building, Nominees are CPA-Deans, Educators, Book Authors, Practitioners and HR Professional

There were two points that caught my interest. First the establishment and enhancement of public libraries via the Enhanced Public Libraries Act and the OFW Reintegration Act.

The first one that hit me is the need for any local public library to attract today’s younger generation to love going to the libraries and read, read and read; not just depend on the Net alone.

For him, the Generation Zers could be a challenge in implementing the Enhanced Public Libraries Act. How would he intend to implement it? He considered it as a twin bill–pass the free WiFi as the data infrastructure. The physical infrastructure will follow–the materials, the employees as the brick and mortar way because he doesn’t believe that today’s students can rely on smartphones alone in gaining knowledge. He wants to add more public libraries in the city that is accessible of course to all students and out-of-school youth.

According to Ballada, the OFW Reintegration Act was an idea of the party’s third nominee Dr. Christopher Biore, CPA, MBA, a Dean, an Advocacy Projects Mentor and a Book Author. He was able to incubate a lot of business ideas that won in competitions abroad. His works were tested in the Univedrsity of Cebu. Though ASEAN hasn’t really worked hand in hand with any government agency or with Overseas Workers Welfare Association (OWWA)–the group is confident enough that they can facilitate the vision in providing business concepts to returning OFWs and invest and grow the money they earned while working across the globe.

ASEAN is worthy of a spot in Congress in the interest of the nation’s improvement in education. Vote for the Party with number 23 this coming Monday, May 13.